Down, but not out.

I moved to Calgary in August 2012.  Since moving I took on a few births, a handful of placenta clients, and provided birth pool rentals to people who heard of me through the grapevine.  There were great plans of continuing my Doula work while working towards a Midwifery degree.  Well, as it turns out, a 3.85 GPA is not quite good enough for even an interview for the Midwifery program, so I’ll be back to school in September to upgrade.

Discouraged.

Working as a Birth Doula also turned out to be more difficult than anticipated.  I’m a single mother and having to call in a sitter (aka Grandma) at any moment in time just wasn’t ideal, and it’s hard not being able to plan at all when it comes to childcare.  As anyone in the birth world knows, most births occur during the middle of the night, so I’m sure you can guess how that went.  Turns out single parenting 4 children and working as a Doula is incredibly hard to balance.

Hesitation.

But wait!  That’s not it!  This post is not just about disappointment, personal failures, and my exit from birth work.  I may have been down, but I’m not out yet.  This is a positive post, I swear!  The tables have turned, and I am more optimistic than I have been in a long time about my role as a Birth Doula.  For the first time ever I have a feasible support system in place, and this support system has enabled myself to return to the birth world and finally do what I was made to do.  Yes, you read that correctly.  I can get back in to my skin, my passion, and my “normal” role of helping women and families feel empowered, informed and supported through one of the most monumental transitions of their life!  Childbirth.

Optimistic.

I will start taking clients that have a due date in September or later.  Check out my services and make sure to read the About me page, everything has been updated!

 

Leave a Reply

