What’s with the new name?

ODlogo

Today is the re-launching of Offbeat Doula! (formerly known as Earthy Birthy Doula)

I know many people will wonder why I have decided to completely rebrand, so here is a little explanation.

When I first started the Earthy Birthy Doula blog, it was not meant to be my business name. It was initially just meant as my personal blog, and I thought the name was super cute and rhyme-y. And if you know me (which maybe you don’t), I love super cute and rhyme-y. But here is what happened. When it came time to make business cards, I couldn’t think of a business name, so I just went with the name I had already been using for years personally. Yes, that happened. I chose Earthy Birthy Doula as my business name because I literally could not think of anything else.

A couple months ago I went to an advanced business training workshop, and they spoke quite a bit about personal and business branding. This really got me thinking. I am Earthy Birthy, yes, for sure, but I am also so much more. I think when people picture Earthy Birthy Doula, they likely envision someone with flowers in her long wavy hair, wearing a long flowing dress, dancing with her eyes closed, and waving around a peace sign. Maybe? Maybe not. I can’t read minds (contrary to some’s belief). Well, that is simply not me. While I am most certainly a hippie at heart, I don’t like being pigeonholed in to any one stereotype. Hence, Offbeat Doula was born.

Andi2I consider myself to be a little unconventional, and quite different than what most people picture when they think of “Earthy Birthy”, or even “Doula” for that matter. I have an unconventionally large family, I am inclusive, I play roller derby, and I love tattoos and bright coloured hair. I am a feminist, and I am pretty academic. I bring so much more to the table than just knowledge about birth. I bring experience. I bring the sort of experience that took me many years to attain. I bring empathy and understanding. And above all, I bring a badass confidence and know how that cannot be adequately explained in this blog post. But trust me, it’s there.

So I think that sums it up. Yes, I am most certainly part Earthy Birthy (that will never change), but I am definitely 100% Offbeat (in a good way). 😉

In celebration of my re-launch, I will be posting two rad giveaways for you!

Stayed glued to the Offbeat Doula Facebook page to make sure you don’t miss your chance to enter.

 

Leave a Reply

